Daryl Jamieson


fallings / フォーリングス (2016)

Vanitas Series part 2 / ヴァニタス・シリーズ 第二曲

Genre / ジャンル
Music Theatre (trio) / 音楽演劇(三重奏)
Instrumentation / 編成
shō (u), viola, cello
Duration / 演奏時間
53 minutes / 53分
Other information / 他の情報
Premièred 19 October 2016, Ōmi Gakudō, Tokyo, by Ko Ishikawa, Mari Adachi, Seiko Takemoto, produced by Atelier Jaku
Score available for purchase (printed copy only) directly from DaVinci Editions or Amazon Italy (more Amazon stores coming soon).
Programme Note
fallings is cyclical. There are numerous cycles at work, some very short and easily recognisable as cycles, others repeat at longer intervals, and there is one 'cycle' which occurs only once. There are also overarching huge cycles which conceptually last for much longer than the piece, one of which is the ostensible theme of the work. That principal cycle is coming to its end, is in its period of decline. It is 'falling', dying out, sputtering. And, as a piece concerned with expressing this 'end of a cycle' period, even for the cycles which both rise and fall within the piece, there is an emphasis on the falling.

Kenkō, in mappō-inflected Kamakura-era Japan, praised not the beauty of cherry blossoms on the tree, bursting out of their buds in a subtle revelation, but rather wrote of the beauty of the blossoms as they die, their short existence reminding us of the fragility of own lives. He wrote in a time of pessimism, but found beauty and comfort in the cycles of birth and death, even as he emphasised the ephemerality of all things.

It is in the nature of the cyclical that after the fall, something new rises. Even though it focusses on falling, this is not a pessimistic piece. There is beauty in ruins, and hope in destruction: just look at the Colosseum in Rome, listen to the changing timbres of a plucked string as it disappears into silence, watch a cherry blossom as it falls.