Daryl Jamieson


Stravaig / ストラヴェイグ (2017)
Genre / ジャンル
duo / デュオ
Instrumentation / 編成
u (or shō) and piano
Duration / 演奏時間
20 minutes / 20分
Other information / 他の情報
Premièred 22 April 2017, Ryōgoku Monten Hall, Tokyo, by Ko Ishikawa and Satoko Inoue
Score available for purchase (printed copy only) directly from DaVinci Editions or Amazon Italy (more Amazon stores coming soon).
Programme Note
Four melodies are stated by the u, repeated (but never exactly), expanded, and contracted. Sometimes alone, and sometimes in counterpoint, the four melodies stride over the piano’s slower-moving landscape. ‘Stravaig’ is Scots for rambling: walking without purpose or aim, simply enjoying moving over the land.
4つの旋律が竽によって提示され、繰り返され(必ずしも厳密な繰り返しではない が)、また伸び縮みする。ある時は単旋律、またある時は対位法的に現れ、それら がピアノのゆるやかに流れる風景を跨いでいく。「ストラヴェイグ」とはスコットラ ンド語でいうそぞろ歩き、楽しく地の上を動く、の意。